DVD: The Complete Series Box Sets

November 10, 2007 at 8:33 pm 3 comments

I am a huge fan of TV. I am an even bigger fan of TV on dvd, and if the writer’s strike continues I have a feeling we will all be watching even more TV on dvd than before. I just heard from a friend that The OC is coming out with a complete series box set.
51nsq0osqyl_ss400_.jpg
I like how they have laid out the layout, because I enjoy a well designed product. Hopefully they have thought this through, not like the first set of Season 1 discs where the original packaging would crack easily.

While I was online looking at the OC discs, I saw that Gilmore Girls is also having a complete series set. This layout looks much more messy to me and I don’t really enjoy the design. Looks like paper-dolls from when I was a little kid. How do fans of GG feel about this?
51dnamtzjhl_ss400_.jpg
Here is the complete series box set that I own. I LOVE Friends! But I find this design hard to navigate because the discs are not split by season, they are instead broken down into one little booklet per character. Which is nice, but I am still not used to it and I have owned it for almost a year. It is hard to find episodes if you are just looking for a certain one, you are forced to get out the booklet to find out what disc it is on. Which is fine, but not ideal.
51vr7k9mshl_ss400_.jpg
Personally, I think the BEST layout for a complete series was by the Sex and the City box set. Take a look at the image below. The whole thing is created into a spiral booklet that opens easily and can be flipped through to find the correct disc and episode that you are searching for.
p2326504reg.jpg
Does anyone else have issues like this or am I the only one who thinks about these things? 🙂

Source: OC, GG, Friends images are from http://www.amazon.com, SATC image is from store.hbo.com

Entry filed under: Television - I am Addicted!. Tags: , , , , , , .

Random: Online Shopping Prison Break: Bang & Burn

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tvondvdcritic  |  November 16, 2007 at 12:47 am

    Hi. Great blog and great post. I don’t own any of the sets above (I do have all the oc individual sets) but I really love the oc look. I think its great. Nice to see a fellow tv on dvd fan. check out my log if you have the time, and if you dont mind I wanna put you on my blogroll.

    Thanks!

    tvondvdcritic.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 2. Anna  |  November 23, 2007 at 10:02 pm

    YES, FINALLY! I knew that The OC would be coming out with a complete series box set, so I have been waiting for it for months now! Although I have all four seasons on DVD individually, this will be at the (near) top of my Christmas list!

    Reply
  • 3. annieinmn  |  November 25, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    The OC is a great deal too….on Amazon it is only $119.99 which is a great deal compared to buying each one for $45

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


:) hello!

television, music, news, and everything else from your typical minnesota blogger... leave me comments! i love them!

Recent Posts

Categories

November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
counter

