Movie Review: Definitely, Maybe

February 20, 2008 at 11:55 am Leave a comment

definitely_maybe.jpg

Well I am a biased reviewer on this one. For a few specific reasons…

First, New York City – Oh the love of my life…when will I be back there? Hopefully soon…lets all cross our fingers! But really any movie set in NYC (and that covers pretty much 80% of the romantic comedys ever made) is a step ahead of the rest in my personal opinion. There is just something great about watching a NYC movie and being able to say “oh yeah I have been there on that street.” Go ahead, call me a sucker. I know its true.

Another big selling point for me is Ryan Reynolds. I love how he is goofy, adorable and sarcastic all at the same time. His characters are loveable and believeable at the same time.

Anyways…this movie is your full on typical romantic comedy, but it was very very well done. Predictable and wonderful. Yet seemed like a fresh story that only benefited by the adorable Abigail Breslin. I am always impressed with her, Ever since Little Miss Sunshine. I am hoping she can transition the child to teen to adult actress stages that so many child stars are unable to tackle. I really do think she will stick around though.

Basically it is the story of Will Hayes (Reynolds) telling his daughter Mya (Breslin) the story of how he met her mother. Except that he is telling her the story of 3 different past girlfriends and she has to figure out which one is her mother.  Hayes is a recent college grad still in love with his college girlfriend Emily, who goes to New York City (yay!) to work for the Clinton campaign where he meets Summer an aspiring journalist and April, a fun quirky redhead.

Frankly, I could outline the whole rest of the movie, but I would rather you go see it for yourself. I don’t want to ruin it for you. Want to find out which one is Mya’s mom? Who does Will end up with at the end of the movie?

I only had one major issue with the movie. Mya refers to  a statistic about how many people jump off the Brooklyn Bridge. Then they show the bridge…and its NOT the Brooklyn Bridge. It was the Manhattan Bridge. COME ON PEOPLE! Can’t you get at least that right????

Regardless of bridge issues it was a great movie. 🙂 Go see this fluffy chick flick. You will enjoy it.

image source

Entry filed under: Movies I did or did not like.. Tags: , , , .

The Office: Best Jim Halpert Computer Background EVER! Concert: OneRepublic in Minnesota!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


:) hello!

television, music, news, and everything else from your typical minnesota blogger... leave me comments! i love them!

Recent Posts

Categories

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  
counter

