Movie Review: Vantage Point

February 25, 2008 at 10:13 am 5 comments

I had such high hopes.

And Vantage Point didn’t even get close.

Even if I had mediocre expectations of this movie…it would still have failed. I was disappointed by this one. And here is how…

Plot: I have to say the first half of the movie was pretty good. There was good action, lots of unanswered questions and an interesting storytelling method. It was sort of like participating in a Choose Your Own Adventure book. We followed a character for about 20-some minutes and then skipped back to noon again to follow the same timeframe in a different character’s perspective. I found it sort of intriguing. I liked this different plotline. But about halfway through it started to fall off course…and then it was all downhill after that.

They abandoned the character driven storyline and the whole thing evolved into a rediculous car chase. And I love car chases. (My favorite recent one was in The Bourne Ultimateum) I know all car chases are pretty much impossible stunts, but this one was soooo impossible. Dennis Quaid gets slammed between a full speed semi-truck and a brick wall and is able to just walk away. Oh wait…he ran away…hmmm.

Character Development: This is the biggest kicker for me in movies. I need to be able to connect with the characters. This movie was just so flat. And so predictable. One line of dialogue gave away the very obvious “unknown” villan. The viewer was not encouraged to get into these characters at all. Perhaps because of the broken storyline, but mostly just because they all seemed very one dimensional and very stereotypical. It was easy to tell who was running the whole thing, who was the hero, who was the betrayer, etc.

Dialogue: I felt like I was watching a made for tv movie. The dialogue was painful. PAINFUL.

Intensity: This was the one redeeming quality of this movie. (I know…even Matthew Fox in a suit couldn’t save it for me) But Vantage Point was intense. It did keep me on the edge of my seat for most of it. I was entertained up until about halfway…the point at which I started scoffing at the predictablity and dialogue. It had all the energy to take it to a good level, but just didn’t quite make it.

Overall Grade: D — Like my friend Caitlin said: “In the movie they say ‘Americans can’t imagine a world where they aren’t one step ahead.’ but I felt like I was ten steps ahead of this movie.” So true.

I would love to hear from someone who doesn’t agree with me. Did anyone love this movie? Please tell me why…

Entry filed under: Movies I did or did not like.. Tags: , , , , .

Lost: Eggtown Oscars: Minnesota Dominates!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. AnniesfriendCaitlin  |  March 7, 2008 at 9:04 am

    WOOHOOO. I made the blog. holla.

    Reply
  • 2. Krazykaleb  |  June 30, 2008 at 12:37 am

    I just don’t get it.

    My Family, my friends and I all love this film. I’ve looked at many reviews for this film and guess what you Critics are bashing a very good movie. So what if it’s not rated R and has a plot that of the perfection. Let me see you do better!

    Here is proof that most viewers love this movie as compared to the common critic:
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0443274/
    Common viewers gave it a 7. This means that over 60% of viewers gave this film a 10 out of 10. This is a poll done by over 22,000 votes!

    Mostly this is what I see today. Critics love to bash on movies so that us viewers will go see it to see if it really is crappy or not. Because it’s definately not crappy at all.

    This movie to me beat Iron Man and the Incredable Hulk just for it’s unique story telling experience.

    But don’t take this guys word for it or mine. GO WATCH THE MOVIE AND JUDGE IT FOR YOURSELF.

    Reply
  • 3. Krazykaleb  |  June 30, 2008 at 12:40 am

    Maybe you are one of those who hate 2001 a space oydessy. Because that is another movie that was hated by critics. But highly aclaimed by fans and viewers. Because of its unique story telling methods.

    Reply
  • 4. annieinmn  |  June 30, 2008 at 8:17 am

    I love unique storytelling. But why uniquely tell a story that is lame? How about a well written movie with a strong plot and dialogue?

    Reply
  • 5. fred  |  October 6, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    i have to agree with annie the story was good halfway . this story is just like a ripped off from some discovery channel stuff.but i recommend this movie for action movie lover and doesnt ask many questions but not for someone that likes a strong plot that’s a frequent viewer of discovery/history channel

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


:) hello!

television, music, news, and everything else from your typical minnesota blogger... leave me comments! i love them!

Recent Posts

Categories

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  
counter

