Movie Review: Leatherheads

April 8, 2008 at 6:03 pm Leave a comment

Well I have definitely been looking forward to this movie! My friends can tell you that I have been counting down to April for months now. So I rounded up some of my favorite people (you know who you are!) and went out to see it opening weekend.

I know the real critics panned this movie, but a fake critic like myself found it to be overall very enjoyable. It was funny, sarcastic, romantic. George Clooney plays George Clooney (does he ever play another role?), and John Krasinski plays Jim Halpert but better dressed with combed hair. 🙂 haha! The Characters were fun and loveable, they could have had a little more depth to personality, but their great chemistry made up for it. Renee Zellweger didn’t even drive me crazy like she tends to do. I actually enjoyed her character and believed that she was a newspaper reporter on the fence of a dilemma.

The football scenes were fun and active, but you weren’t lost. There was one somewhat confusing play towards the end, but the sports and the story were spaced out enough so you didn’t feel that either was sacrificed or overdone in the film.

One of the best parts of the movie was the way it honored the old-time film and movie style. I actually liked how the movie slowed from time to time to show fake old fashioned pictures, and how the credits were presented as actual credits at the beginning of the film. One of my friends thought it was too slow, but I thought it was a nice change from the way present films are done. Hands down the best part of the movie (other than staring at JKras and GCloo for 2 hours) was the costuming. They went all out for the look of this film and it really paid off. The suits, dresses, football uniforms were great. I am looking forward to seeing it again just so that I will be able to look at all of those tailored suits and glittery beautiful dresses and feathered hats.

Another great thing about this movie…it was set in Minnesota! Annie in MN LOVES that! Go Duluth!

Ok…so my final verdict on this one: Good Movie, Good Entertainment, Great Costumes & Sets. I think it was everything I hoped for, it was fun and entertaining and made me laugh, but it wasn’t any ground-breaker. I loved it. I would own it, but it most likely wont be up for Oscars.

image source

Entry filed under: Movies I did or did not like.. Tags: , , , , .

Prison Break: Sara still ALIVE??? Website: Moo.com

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


:) hello!

television, music, news, and everything else from your typical minnesota blogger... leave me comments! i love them!

Recent Posts

Categories

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
counter

