Music: Death Cab for Cutie “Narrow Stairs”

May 20, 2008 at 3:02 pm Leave a comment

Head right out and buy Death Cab’s new album “Narrow Stairs.” I have had it on pre-order for months now, and last week finally got to download it. I give it two thumbs up.

The album is great. It stays true to their original sound but still has a fresh feeling with new songs and melodies. I like how it feels like you almost know it before you hear it. That is the sign of a group that knows their style, knows what works and sticks with it. There are a few songs in the mix that break it up and feel different, I don’t want you to think they are in a rut. I think it is a healthy style.

Overall, I love it. My new favorites from the album are their single, “I Will Possess Your Heart”, “You Can Do Better Than Me” and “The Ice is Getting Thinner.” The image above is a still from their “I Will Possess Your Heart” music video. It is a beautiful video. Be sure to check it out….or if you buy the extended version album it is downloaded as part of the album.

One sort of interesting thing about this album is the credit track. They have a track that is part of the album where it is just someone’s voice reading the titles and track credits. I guess this is their way of coping with the fact that for most people there is no paper booklet where credit can be given to the numerous people who contributed to a record. Do you think this is effective or do you find it to be annoying?

Entry filed under: Music I Like. And You Should too.. Tags: , , , , .

Random: LifeSavers Popsicles! Fashion: 5 Best Dresses at Cannes 2008

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


:) hello!

television, music, news, and everything else from your typical minnesota blogger... leave me comments! i love them!

Categories

May 2008
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
counter