Movie: Sex and the City

June 2, 2008 at 1:18 pm 6 comments

Yes, I was one of the crazy millions of fans who went to see the Sex and the City movie opening weekend. In Minneapolis it was a cold and somewhat rainy Friday night, but that did not stop every other female in the movie theater from wearing teeny little summery sundresses and 4 inch heels. Wow. I was amazed at the mass of girls wearing high heels. I know it’s what Carrie Bradshaw would expect, but still.

***FYI: Plot Spoilers Below***

Cons:

Length- This movie was tooo long. I am a fan of the show, so I was ok with it, but it was still too long. Most romantic comedies are shorter…this is because otherwise they get old and too drawn out. This movie was too long. How many montages can we have of her trying on old clothes. I know that is part of the show, but still, it could have been trimmed shorter.

Not enough Stanford and not enough Anthony!!!!

Big & Carrie- Honestly. He is an ass. She is an idiot. Why are we supposed to believe that everything is all better now?

Smith & Samantha – I was seriously disappointed that they didn’t have a happy ending. I swear the only reason they didn’t end up together at the end was because then everyone would have had a happy ending…and of course that must be bad.

No one died? Stupid rumors.

Pros:

Hair- I loved Carrie’s hair dark brown. When she dyed her hair I LOVED it. She should keep it that way. It felt very real too. The broad range of emotions was very real. Ups and Downs for every character.

Jennifer Hudson- She was fun. I know I have read some things about how she can’t act, but I loved her character and the fact that they wanted to bring in a new character during the movie. Her scenes with Carrie were heart-warming.

Shoes/Clothes – I loved all the shoes, dresses, etc…its both beautiful and WTF? at the same time. They even sort of mocked it themselves when Carrie and Charlotte are talking about the bird in Carrie’s hair. Charlotte gives her a look that is perfect…it’s exactly what you would expect.

Charlotte’s Kids – Definitely the cutest daughters! Of course she would have two girls!

The Closet- The stunning 5th avenue apartment made me sick with jealousy! It was amazing…and the closet that Big built for Carrie was phenomenal! I loved how JHud’s character commented that she was living in a one bedroom with 3 roommates. Thats real New York for you…or at least the NY I know. My NY doesn’t involve $595 pairs of shoes.

NYC- I loved all of the shots of NYC. The way they hit some of my favorite sights like the Public Library and the Brooklyn Bridge. I was homesick for the city just watching the movie.

Storyline- It finished out all their storylines and was wonderful. I really did enjoy the movie…but I am really against a sequel to the movie. There are already rumors of this…Come on people! Don’t beat it till its dead. Leave it on a high note.

Overall: If you are a fan of the show definitely go see it. It did exceed my expectations, but if you are just sort of interested, wait till video.

What did you think?

Also, here are two good interviews with Sarah Jessica Parker. I like her more the more interviews I read. She seems pretty grounded and sweet. Mail Online and New York Mag.

Entry filed under: Movies I did or did not like.. Tags: , , .

Random: What I spent my $600 stimulus check on… Prison Break: Filming Season 4 begins in LA

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ubuntucat  |  June 2, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    I agree with your pros and cons. I just hope the adopted daughter doesn’t get the shaft now that Charlotte finally has the biological daughter she’s been trying to have since nine years ago.

    Reply
  • 2. Suzanne  |  June 3, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    The movie was too long. Had a lot of random pointless scenes that went no where. I thought that Samanthas story line was predictable. (From the begining! I even said out loud that her boy toy was probably the one bidding via the tele.) But acceptable.

    Charlotte had no suprises to her story line.

    I really wanted more Standford time in the movie. Despite the gay characters in usual shows being slapsticky, Standfords storys usually had some heartfelt true emotions to them. Too bad that wasnt seen here. I did enjoy his suit jacket tho. 🙂

    Steve totally acted out of character. Altho I really enjoyed his acting abilities when it came to telling miranda about the cheat. I thought he was going to throw up he looked that upset!

    I put Hudson in my con list. She cant act and her story line was cheesy. They didnt even go into the fact that her boyfriend was probably a bust out like Big.

    Getting to the point of the movie: Big and Carrie. I havent been a fan of the shows ideals however I have watched the show a lot. And I was hoping that for once they would get over the loser idea that materialistic stupid carrie should end up with the (numerous times) cheater Big. I mean really.

    If the memo i recieved from watching this movie was ” the heart wants what it wants and its not always logical. ” and ” if we can write vows why cant we write our own rules ” were the main messages to base all the story lines ‘logic’ on.. then i guess they made the endings ‘sensible’.

    But in real life, no one should marry a man whos cheated on them, cheated on others, and then stood you up at your wedding. That person should get therapy. to figure out what the hell is making them want to be with such a douchebag !

    Reply
  • 3. Suzanne  |  June 3, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    http://movies.msn.com/movies/hitlist/05-30-08_3?GT1=7701

    interesting possiblities they filmed but didnt use! what a bummer!

    Reply
  • 4. annieinmn  |  June 4, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    That was an interesting link Suzanne, thanks for posting it.

    It was too bad they didn’t put in a scene with Aiden. I thought that would have happened too. Too bad.

    And yes, Steve’s acting was awesome. He did a really really good job with his scenes. I honestly felt so bad for both him and Miranda.

    I also called it about Smith being the one on the phone bidding for the ring. I leaned over and told my friend that too.

    Reply
  • 5. SATC: Carrie Bradshaw’s Blue Heels « annie.in.mn  |  June 10, 2008 at 10:50 am

    […] I was hunting for a picture of this shoe back when I did my Sex and the City movie review…but I couldn’t find it. Well…Here it is! And you can purchase this stunning pair […]

    Reply
  • 6. patrick  |  June 18, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    i noticed that Sex and the City has a polarizing effect on both men and women… people either love the movie or they hate it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


:) hello!

television, music, news, and everything else from your typical minnesota blogger... leave me comments! i love them!

Recent Posts

Categories

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
counter

